Surviving school: Young, wild, and sick

In order to survive a semester or school year, it takes motivation. In order to survive while fighting a chronic illness?

That takes not only motivation, but a thousand other characteristics.

This semester was so difficult, but I never want to let POTS or anything dictate my life to the point where I can’t go to school. That is why I endured through so many classes. I get to choose how my days will be in some aspects. I choose to make them count.

Here are my top tips to make it through school emotionally and physically.

1) Suck it up. I mean this in the most loving way possible. If I was your classmate, I would do everything I could to comfort you and make you feel better. However, most people don’t understand and aren’t compassionate. If you whine about your illness, you’re just going to end up with irritated teachers and friends who don’t want to be around you. Do not think you can get special privileges just because you have this problem. If you tell your mind there’s another choice, you’re always going to go to the nurse, check out, etc. because you think like that. If you tell yourself school is your only option to get to the next chapter of your life, you will find perseverance. Remember that you are not the only one struggling with something. You don’t know what that kid beside you is going through at home, so don’t through a pity party as if you’re life is a tragedy and you have no blessings in your life. You do.

2) Find your blessings. Dwell on them in class. Think of them in the hallway. Put pictures in your binders and lockers if you need to. Write down your favorite quotes or Bible verses. My whole planner was full of things that reminded me how blessed I am. If you absolutely cannot think of any blessings, here are some: you are alive, you are breathing, you are smart enough to read this, you have somebody in your life (even if it’s me) that cares about you, and shall I go on? Also, don’t compare your current condition to teenagers around you. Yes, it’s incredibly unfair that they probably don’t know what orthostatic intolerance is and they don’t have to wear compression stockings, but that does not mean your life isn’t just as significant as theirs.

3) Carry water at all times. This is the sole reason I am able to make it through school. I have a water bottle with me everywhere I go (even the bathroom!) and it makes a huge difference. If I feel a dizzy spell coming on, I chug a whole bottle in a matter of seconds and I feel better. Do not get dehydrated. I drink water about every 1.5-2 hours depending on my symptoms. This does cause you to have to go to the bathroom a lot, but try to wait to go in between class and get a doctor’s note if necessary.

4) Exercise. Obviously, don’t go running down the hallway or lifting weights in the middle of Pre-Cal, but exercise when you get home. It takes a toll on your body to sit up straight for 7+ hours and it needs some time to move around. Start out with a 20 minute walk then slowly increase your time. It also helps strengthen your body to walk down the hallways at school. Do gentle exercising so you won’t flare up the next day. My exercising routine is the highlight of my day because it gives me a break from all my schoolwork and relieves some of my stress. Turn on some good music and jam out.

5) Don’t miss school. Once you get behind one day, it gets harder and harder to get back on track. Your grades will suffer. If you must miss for doctor’s appointments, try to schedule them during a class that doesn’t have a tremendous workload. Don’t go to the nurse or check out because in the long run it won’t help. I know how incredibly hard it is to sit up, but you must train your body to do so.

6) Get extra help. The first month of school, my blood pressure was so low during my second period class, I couldn’t even remember what my assignments were. My best friend would write them down for me and send them to me after school so I could get caught up. It’s not embarrassing to go to tutoring or take advantage of any other academic opportunities. If you are struggling, talk to your teacher or spend extra time at night studying. My mom would read my history book to me in the evenings because I was too dizzy to do so myself. Don’t try to make it on your own.

7) Move around as much as possible. Sitting in a chair for a long time makes your blood pool. When you stand up to walk to your next class, always stand up slowly and stretch. If you get tired walking down the hallway, try to take small breaks like stopping at your locker or going to the bathroom.

8)Ignore ignorant people. If somebody doesn’t believe you’re sick, forget them and don’t try to convince or argue with them.  People have told me POTS is anxiety, it can’t be that bad, and if I were really sick I should be in a wheelchair. I could go on and on about the lack of awareness students and some teachers have about invisible illnesses. When I’m faced with people like this, I remember a Dr. Seuss quote that says: “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Yes, there are many people who will hurt you on this journey, but there are also people who will heal you. Always look for those who try and want to understand you more.

9) Pack a healthy lunch. Don’t load up on all sugar or any other thing that causes flares. I packed chicken, grapes, protein bar, and celery in my lunchbox. You need to find a meal that fills you up and will stabilize your glucose levels. Protein is key.

10) Do not lose hope. High school is hard. Chronic illness is hard. Put them together and a lot of days it seems impossible. But, it’s not because you are stronger than you know. There is so much to look forward to in the future even if right now is absolutely terrible. I won’t lie. The beginning weeks of school, I woke up everyday thinking about what it would feel like to not be alive anymore. I was in so much pain and it felt like the winter was never going to end. But, I promise it does and your summer will come. At the end of all this, when you have your diploma in your hand and the pain is behind you, you will be okay. Nothing is permanent. Our troubles and pain do not last forever. Fight against all the things that are weighing you down. You must fight. I know there are days when it seems there is literally no hope and there’s no way you can keep going. But, please wait it out and see how you can. It’s incredible what you can accomplish if you just have faith and the courage to keep going.

These are just a few of my tips. If you have specific questions, feel free to direct message me on Instagram (@onefootinfrontofyou). What helps you get through school? Comment below. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment